Easy recipes for the busy cook

I love food y’all.

I’m not vegan or paleo or even gluten free, I’m just skinny and hungry. So I make up recipes that my children turn their noses up at , but my man goes for thirds.

I usually share my heart about Jesus and wine and my rambunctious children, but today I’d like to share my other love. 

food.

Shrimp. Fajitas.

Image

You will need:

1 lb small shrimp, peeled.

1 onion diced

1 green pepper diced

olive oil

seasoned salt, I use Lawrys

cilantro to taste

1 lime squeezed

corn tortillas

sour cream

avocado

sides: mexican rice and black beans.

Directions

marinate shrimp in plastic bag with olive oil squeeze of lime juice and seasoned salt. Get serious with the salt. Let that sit for an hour, while you dice up the veggies. Throw some Olive oil in a pan and start cooking the veggies. You don’t want them mushy, so just do about ten minutes on medium. Add the shrimp , lime juice and cilantro. Saute until the shrimp is not longer pink and serve topped with black beans, sour cream, another squeeze of lime and sliced avocado on a corn tortilla. Add wine. In your glass.

Chicken tortellini soup

image

You will need:

1 lb chicken ( I use organic drum sticks. They are cheap and I’m able to use the bones for broth later )

1 lb of frozen tortellini . You can use cheese or spinach

1 diced onion

Kale. fresh or frozen , 2 cups . Can also use spinach in place of Kale , if you aren’t a kale fan. If you’re not I’ll pray for you.

2 cans diced organic tomatoes and juice they were in

4 cloves of garlic , minced. I use a garlic press.

seasoned salt, 3 tsp. Or more if you’re a salt head.

4 cups chicken broth

1 cup broth chicken was boiled in

3 tsp oregano

2 tbsp of salsa, whatever kind you like

dash of hot sauce, or not if you have whimpy lips like my husband.

Directions:

boil the chicken until white, save broth.

bring to boil in pot all listed ingredients. Shred the chicken, add. Let all ingredients simmer for an hour before serving. Top with fresh Parmesan cheese, and serve with French bread.

Vegetable beef soup

image

You will need:

1 lb ground beef, venison, or ground turkey

1 large bag of organic frozen vegetables

4 tbsp organic butter

2 cans tomato juice

1 can diced tomatoes

2 cups beef broth

3 cloves garlic, minced

fresh oregano, minced

seasoned salt , 4 tsp

black pepper

1 can great northern beans, drained

Directions:

Brown the beef and drain. Add to pot with listed ingredients, let simmer for an hour and serve. Add more spice if needed. Serve with cornbread and shredded sharp cheddar cheese.

And that’s for the nights your children make forts out of toilet paper rolls. 

image

Leave a Reply

