Rocking you

My sweet Adah Loo,

Today you are one. Today I will give you a gift, but last night you gave me one I will always remember.

I left your siblings with your Dad , and went into our room to nurse and rock you. You usually reach for your bed when you are finished nursing, but not last night. You took your time eating, giggling and smiling at me. You took your time holding my hand and pitching my nose. You took your time giving me kisses and long hugs . You were assuring me you are still a baby, and all the while all I could see was you on the first day of high school. Your first broken heart. Your wedding day. Daddy walking you down the aisle. The day you have your first child.

All the while I’ve been telling you, sweet baby to slow down…

The person that needs to slow down is your Momma. I’ve been so wrapped up in the fact that you were turning one, but I need to be wrapped up in you.

As we were rocking together, I started thanking Jesus for you. For your life. Your smile. The laughter that you bring. For saving you!

Whenever I rock my babies at night I always sing the old hymn:

I love you lord and I lift my voice
To worship you , oh my soul rejoice
Take joy my king in what you hear
May it be a sweet sweet sound in your ears

When I found out you were breech, another old hymn started coming off my tongue when I would start to feel afraid. I would sing it everywhere. I believed it when I heard the words.

’Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just to take Him at His word;
Just to rest upon His promise;
Just to know, Thus saith the Lord.
Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him,
How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er,
Jesus, Jesus, Precious Jesus!
O for grace to trust Him more.
O how sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just to trust His cleansing blood;
Just in simple faith to plunge me,
’Neath the healing, cleansing flood.
Yes, ’tis sweet to trust in Jesus,
Just from sin and self to cease;
Just from Jesus simply taking
Life, and rest, and joy, and peace.
I’m so glad I learned to trust Thee,
Precious Jesus, Savior, Friend;
And I know that Thou art with me,
Wilt be with me to the end

I trust him to guide you. I trust him to protect you. I trust him to love you.

Listen, I used to hate on hymns. But the more The Lord puts them in my head, the more powerful they sound. Because they are.

So sweet little Loo, I pray you will love him all the days of your life. Without Him life means nothing. Include him in all you do and say. Be kind to people and show them how to love. Loving people brings out your best qualities. Loving people makes your smile genuine and your soul flourish. You are so special in his kingdom, so special in fact he made sure you got here . On his timing and with his grace. You have changed me in ways I never knew needed changing. I’ll love you forever.

Rocking you

Leave a Reply

